Vaniish (ex-soft Moon and Wax Idols) release ‘Memory Work’ video

By on August 1, 2014


San Francisco’s VANIISH (featuring past and present members of Wax Idols and The Soft Moon) have shared the video for the title track from their debut album, Memory Work.  The video does a great job of capturing the mood of the record and enveloping the watcher into its world of eerie soundscapes and surrealism.


Memory Work is an impressive debut that is both dense and spacious, combining the atmosphere of early 4AD with the psychedelic shoegaze of Creation Records.  Memory Work is available now on digital, CD and limited edition vinyl with an alternate cover via Metropolis Records.


Vaniish have also announced an east coast run this fall that includes dates with White Lung. All tour dates below.



“Chills and churns in all the right ways, evoking the crystalline melancholy of The Cure’s early work along with the edge-blurred atmosphere of Sarah Records’ back catalog.” –The AV Club


“I miss songs like this. Songs that make me feel like I’m in a cave full of noise and every echo is catered to fill the holes in my brain. A music box made just for me.” -White Lung’s Mish Way via Noisey


“VANIISH put all their influences on display, but they do a great job of combining them to create a pleasantly dark and distinct sound.” –Impose Magazine 


“VANIISH is surprising in its directness. Tecon’s low, baleful voice is the perfect complement to the song’s highwire guitars and eerie layers of synth.” –Wondering Sound


“An album filled with frenzy, drawing you into an otherworldly atmosphere of echoing vocals and deftly layered instrumentation.” –WILD Magazine


“Icy and dark in nature, with cutting vocals and bone chilling synth work. Instruments interlope and tumble together, similar to the effect of a simple twist on a kaleidoscope. There’s a remarkable sense of urgency and upheaval.” –The Bay Bridged



The San Francisco 4-piece VANIISH began when singer/guitarist Keven Tecon (Wax Idols, ex- The Soft Moon) left his previous bands after his mother’s death in early 2013.  “I was on tour in Eastern Europe in the middle of winter when it happened and it was too much to handle.  I couldn’t keep it up.”  After returning home Tecon decided to focus entirely on a new project along with fellow Wax Idols member Amy Rosenoff (bass) and SF music-scene luminaries Adam Beck (guitar/keyboards) and Nick Ott (drums).  The album “Memory Work” is both dense and spacious, combining the atmosphere of early 4AD with the psychedelic shoegaze of Creation Records. It envelopes the listener into its world of eerie soundscapes and surreal lyrics.  “There is an interesting mix of synths, guitars, samples, drum machines, and live drums.  We like the idea that you can’t tell what’s real and what isn’t.”  The album was produced by Monte Vallier (Weekend, The Soft Moon, Wax Idols)


The title track is the sound of machines breathing and fluids pumping, with a pulse beat overladen with brush strokes of synth.  “Kaleidoscoped” ditches the monochrome for crystallized shards of guitar and a sparkling chorus that’s hard to see coming.  “Search and Replace” is vicious and would be more at home in 2080 than 1980 while the addictive melody of “Merge” is the closest the album comes to an actual pop song.  “Succession” gives the second side of the album some breathing room with it’s sparse production and icy spikes of guitar.  Lush album closer “La foi au fil de l’eau”, sung entirely in French, could easily find its way onto a film score.


8/6 – San Francisco @ Elbo Room *

9/1 – Brooklyn @ Glasslands

9/2 – Boston @ Great Scott ^

9/3 – Manhattan @ Home Sweet Home for Nothing Changes

9/4 – Baltimore @ Ottobar

9/6 – Philadelphia @ Kung Fu Necktie


*= w/ Xeno and Oaklander

^= w/ White Lung





JUNE 10, 2014

1. In Images

2. Memory Work

3. Kaleidoscoped

4. Fragment Fatigue

5. Search and Replace

6. Merge

7. Succession

8. Observatory Time

9. Loss of Sensation

10. Cold Fascination

11. La foi au fil de l’eau




Author: DaveHHM

Dave Luttrull: Owner/Editor in Chief of Hellhound Music. Star Wars nerd, Gamer, Destiny homer, blogger, writer and lover of all things music.