Your Past, My Present: Trials And Tribulations Review

By on January 23, 2013

Texas Metalcore act Your Past, My Present have released their debut EP: Trials And Tribulations. “The Summoning” kicks off this release with a breakdown and some nifty effects, before exploding into a more technical synchronization of death vocals and a killer melody-driven rhythm; an exotic lead and higher pitched clean vocal delivery manifest the song’s chorus. “Conversation With Immortals” thrashes in next with its more organic/experimental rhythm and brutal vocal onslaught taking the center stage. The band slows it down for the EP’s next track “Trials And Tribulations” where electronic effects lead through the softer tone of the song. “Kingdoms” displays the EP’s most brutal death vocal performance; the hardest song on the release: will be a fan favorite for sure. “Blood And Sand” crosses over a bit: with a much more melodic guitar composition and vocalist Matt Fortner’s most in-your-face/aggressive screaming yet.

The EP closes with a bang in it’s final track “Viles” a speedy performance incorporating as many elements of Death Metal as one could desire. Trials And Tribulations is a solid mix of many diverse styles of metal: Melodic, Death, Tech, and more; an impressive debut to say the least. You can grab your copy on iTunes today.

Track Listing:
1. The Summoning
2. Conversation With Immortals
3. Trials And Tribulations
4. Kingdoms
5. Blood And Sand
6. Viles

Review by Matt Crane – HHM